Airport Tower Vienna

With the extension of the international airport in Vienna the necessity of a new air traffic control center including a control tower has arisen. A general planner competition was carried out in the year 2002 which was won due to an impressive design of Martin Zechner by the Consortium Zechner–Lorenz.

The tower has a height of approx. 108 metres and is divided into the plinth, an intermediate section with a membrane covering and the tower head. The plinth area that extends over 6 storeys accommodates the air traffic control center and reflects the alignment of the orthogonal road grid system. The tower head is twisted to its base of approx. 45 degrees to guarantee an optimal view of the runways. The intermediate section is covered by a translucent layer which could be used for advertising, information and art purposes. Its profile continuously deforms from the plinth to the head geometry.

The main structure entirely consists of reinforced concrete. The tower shaft is more than 100 metres high and is shaped as a circular concrete pipe with a wall thickness of 45 centimetres. The concrete pipe measures 10 metres in its diameter and was fabricated in slip-forming. The load-bearing structure of the plinth storeys consists of conventionally reinforced flat ceilings with a thickness of 30 centimetres and of circular supports with a diameter of 30 to 50 centimetres.

 

Infobox
Services
GP
General Planning
[Consortium Zechner-Lorenz]
 
TP
Tender Process
 
SS
Site Supervision
[incl. tendering]
 
CC
Construction Coordination
 
SE
Structural Engineering
[steel and concrete design]
Period 2001 - 2006
Client Flughafen Wien AG
Building Costs € 36 M

Flughafentower Wien

Mit dem Ausbau des Flughafens Wien ist auch der Neubau der Flugsicherungsstelle mit Kontrollturm erforderlich geworden. Im Jahr 2002 wurde dafür ein Generalplaner-Wettbewerb durchgeführt, der von der ARGE Zechner-Lorenz mit einem eindrucksvollen Entwurf von Martin Zechner gewonnen wurde.

Der ca. 108 m hohe Tower gliedert sich in Sockel, Mittelzone mit Membranbespannung und Turmkopf. Die sechsgeschoßige Sockelzone beherbergt Einrichtungen der Flugsicherung und nimmt die Fluchten des orthogonalen Straßenrasters auf. Der Turmkopf ist zur Basis um ca. 45 Grad verdreht, um optimale Sichtbeziehungen zu den Rollbahnen zu gewährleisten. Der Mittelbereich wird mit einer transluzenten Haut bespannt, die als Projektionsfläche für multimediale Inhalte (Info, Werbung, Kunst etc.) dient und deren Profil sich kontinuierlich von der Sockelgeometrie zur Kopfgeometrie verformt.

Die Hauptkonstruktion besteht zur Gänze aus Stahlbeton, wobei die über 100 m hohe Turmschaft in Form einer kreisrunden Betonröhre mit einer Wandstärke von konstant 45 cm und einem Durchmesser von etwa 10 m ausgebildet ist und in Gleitbauweise hergestellt wurde. Die Tragkonstruktion der Geschoßebenen des Sockels setzt sich aus schlaff bewehrten Flachdecken mit einer Stärke von 30 cm und aus runden Stützen mit einem Durchmesser von 30 bis 50 cm zusammen.

Infobox
Tätigkeitsbereich
GP
Generalplanung
[ARGE Zechner-Lorenz]
 
AS
Ausschreibung
 
ÖBA
Örtliche Bauaufsicht
[inkl. Ausschreibungserstellung]
 
BKG
Baustellenkoordination gem. BauKG
 
ST
Statisch-konstruktive Bearbeitung
[Beton- und Stahlbau]
Leistungszeitraum 2001 - 2006
Auftraggeber Flughafen Wien AG
Baukosten € 36 Mio.